contentsTexas A&M University-Corpus Christiads

Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi Introduction


Over the past 60 years, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi (TAMUCC) has grown from a small private college with 312 students to a major institution of higher learning with a student population of more than 9,000 students.

Founded as a small Baptist college in 1947, the University of Corpus Christi (UCC) was affiliated with the Baptist General Convention until 1971 when the Texas Legislature authorized the Texas A&I University System to create a state-supported upper-level institution of higher education with an expanded curriculum in Corpus Christi.

In 1970, Hurricane Celia severely damaged the campus causing more than $1 million in damage. The following year, a coalition of civic leaders led local support for legislation to convert the UCC campus to a state-supported institution with an expanded curriculum. In 1973, the University of Corpus Christi opened its doors as an upper-level institution offering courses at the junior, senior and graduate levels.


In 1989, the legislature merged Corpus Christi State University into the Texas A&M University System, and in 1994, the arrival of freshmen and sophomores increased enrollment to more than 5,000 students. In 1997, the University revived its athletics program. Today A&M-Corpus Christi competes in 14 men’s and women’s sports as a member of the Southland Conference.

In 2005, Dr. Flavius Killebrew became President/CEO of Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi. President Killebrew initiated Momentum 2015, a 10-year plan to establish Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi as the premier institution in South Texas.

previous topic
next topic













Homeport Federal Credit Union
Red Roof Inn - Corpus Christi
Wells Fargo
Hilton Garden Inn
Camden Miramar at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi